Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

The department is very pleased to announce that it has been awarded a Athena Swan Silver Award. The Athena SWAN Charter was established in 2005 to encourage and recognise commitment to advancing the careers of women in science, technology, engineering, maths and medicine (STEMM) employment in higher education and research.

This is external acknowledgement of all the steps that have been taken to improve working practices within the Department and it reflects the hard work of many members of the department. The hard work put in by Dorothy Bishop, Miles Hewstone,  Elaine Fox, Tracy Tompkins, Rachel New, and all the members of our self-assessment team is gratefully acknowledged.