Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

A unique awards scheme to raise the numbers of women in senior leadership roles in science will take place today (Tuesday 8th March), International Women's Day.  The Suffrage Science scheme recognises ten female scientists and a science communicator, chosen for their scientific achievements and ability to inspire others by current award holders.  This year's winners include EP's Head of Department, Professor Kia Nobre

The ceremony, to be held at the Royal Society in London, celebrates women already in science and encourages others to enter scientific subjects, and to stay.  Helen Pankhurst, great granddaughter of Suffragette Emmeline Pankhurst and long-standing supporter of the scheme, will join a panel discussion on how to make a difference for women today.

The Suffrage Science scheme was set up five years ago by the Clinical Sciences Centre (CSC), a leading research institute of the Medical Research Council, based at Imperial College. It has been nurtured by institute director professor Amanda Fisher, and now includes both a life sciences cohort and a physical sciences cohort, with plans to expand further.